We’ve Failed: Increasing Revenue

Have we failed as a society that values entrepreneurship, out-of-the-box thinking, business savvy-ness and capitalism?

Today I “beat the street”. No, not Wall Street. I hoofed a significant number of blocks in my local community visiting small businesses to introduce myself. One of the questions I posed to each business asked if the owners would be interested in increasing their revenue.

When I asked this question of front-line staff at businesses the owner wasn’t present – invariably there was a confused look, a stammer and an “uhh, I don’t know”.

Have we failed as a society, or an industry (a number of these businesses were foodservice), when our most significant asset, our front-line employees, do not know what “increasing revenue” means?

Leave a Reply

