Tap Me On The Shoulder – Building Village

This past weekend Chalkboarder produced broad-path Social Media On Demand for our client Coffee Fest Tradeshow in Seattle. Over 8000 attendees and exhibitors gathered together at the Washington State Convention Center Friday through Sunday, making it one of the most successful shows Coffee Fest has produced in their 59 shows.

On the Friday of each Coffee Fest (there are three to four a year around the USA), Coffee Fest hosts a happy hour for exhibitors and attendees. These happy hours are crowded and very lively.

Friday night at the happy hour, I received a tap on my shoulder. Here is the dialogue:

Tap: Are you Jeff that gave the seminar on social media last fall here at Coffee Fest?

Me: Yes, I am.

Tap: I want to thank you! I wasn’t in social media and sat in on your seminar a year ago. Because of your presentation, I got into social media. You are responsible for adding $9000 a month revenue over the last nine months to my business!

Me: (genuine surprise and pleasure)

Tap: Do you want me to sell Chalkboarder for you in Los Angeles?

You can imagine my reply to this gentleman. I am truly humbled that a simple (and now I know, relatively uneducated) presentation on my part, impacted this gentleman’s business so positively. I’m pretty satisfied to hear this news, that my simple words and demonstration could bring such change to a small business.

By the way, if you are doing business in Southern California and thinking about social media, I can provide a reference to you.

Leave a comment